2010 Junior Rebels

Back Row: Cody Hydes, Brett Williams, Cory Gibbons, Brad Prance
Middle Row: Frank Geyer (Coach/GM), Vaughn Easey (Trainer), Mitch Allen, Matt Clarke, Harrison Mortimer, Cory Cutler, Mark Leroux, Scott O’Coin, John Goodchild, Bobby Tammen
Front Row: Zack Morin, Brad Olson, Byron Scott, Braden Wilkins, Jeff Geyer, Cam Fielding, Max Richards, Conor Campbell, Tyler Voisey
Missing: Sean O’Beirn, Colin Derby, Tyler Sherwood, Trent Wittal, Zack Peach, Tim Fielding (Asst. Coach), Ted Richards (Asst. Coach)
What Made the News in 2010…

In 2010, the Surrey Rebels completed its fifth season in the West Coast Junior Lacrosse League and would like to again thank all of its volunteers, sponsors, fans and the Surrey Lacrosse Association for their support. While the on floor product failed to match the excellent performances in 2009, we still drew large crowds to our games and received a lot of positive press.

We got off to a good start and hung in the top half of the standings for a good period of time, however a prolonged winless streak dropped us to the point where we didn’t know whether we were going to capture the eighth and final playoff spot until the last WCJLL regular season game. We did make the playoffs with a record of 6-11-3 but fell in two straight games to the eventual league champion New Westminster Salmonbellies.

Individual highlights included Brad Olson placing 5th in league scoring with 65 points, and Jeff Geyer finishing 1st in minutes played, shots faced and shots stopped, and 8th in save percentage. Olson and captain Colin Derby were named to the WCJLL All-Star Team, who beat the Vancouver Island All-Stars in the Canada Day Classic.

I would like to thank my assistant coaches Tim Fielding and Ted Richards, our trainer Vaughn Easey, our team manager Sandra Prance, and our secretary-treasurer Christine Geyer for doing a great job supporting me as coach and GM as we steered the Juniors through a difficult season. We will be graduating 9 players from the Junior program (Derby, Cory Cutler, Cam Fielding, Tyler Sherwood, Cory Gibbons, Matt Clarke, Braden Wilkins, Trent Wittal and Zack Peach), and we wish them the best in their lacrosse careers. We expect most of the 15 remaining players to return for the 2011 season and fully expect the majority of the 20 Intermediate Rebels graduates to be out at training camp vying for the vacant roster spots. Padraic Lawrence will be moving up from our Intermediate program to take over behind the Junior Rebels bench in 2011, with the rest of the Junior team’s management in place.

Frank Geyer, Governor/General Manager/Head Coach – Surrey Rebels Junior Lacrosse Club (2010)